Apr 19, 2024, 01:47 am

News:

New, New TardisBuilders!

Half size kiddy TARDIS build

Started by wayne venomous, Jul 16, 2010, 02:35 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

wayne venomous

Jul 16, 2010, 02:35 pm Last Edit: Jul 16, 2010, 02:36 pm by wayne venomous
Well, I thought I'd at least start a build thread on the 1/2 size TARDIS I'm building for my Daughter's Birthday.

I've got a very small budget for this and I'm not really bothered about making it accurate, I'm more concerned about making it child safe and fun!

The main plan is to make the frame out of all the bits of wood I've got lying around in the spare room and to make a "console" that's got lots of switches, light up stuff and sound effects. The switches will be mostly old car switches from my work (I'm a classic car auto electrician by trade). Sound effects will probably be provided from old car CD players with the controls hacked so they can be operated by the remote switches.
I'm also planning to make a TARDIS monitor that actually works - I've got an old Gameboy Advance with a video card so all I need is a cheap DVD player, again I'll hack the control so it can skip to different scenes to tie in with the TARDIS "controls"
All in all, it's probably going to be a mish mash of the current TARDIS console with maybe a bit of Tom Baker/Peter Davis era thrown in just for the hell of it.

Here's the beginning of the framework:
ikeawood.jpg
Had the slats from an old Ikea bed lying around - these are pretty good quality!

This TARDIS is going to be about 5 feet tall, the slats are near enough half that so I wood glue them together and reinforce them for the time being with some metal plates screwed to the other side:
woodtempjoin.jpg

And now I wait for the glue to set:
woodglued.jpg

That's it for the moment, nothing major to report at the moment but I thought I'd at least get something posted rather than boring everyone with other random cack.  :-[

superrichi1a